Before Sunrise – What is Love (Ethan Hawke, Julie Delpy)

 

Girl: Talking seriously here, i mean, i always feel this pressure of being a strong and independent icon of womanhood and not making it look like my whole life is revolving around some guy, but loving someone and being loved means so much to me, I always make fun of it and stuff. But isn’t everything we do in life a way to be loved a little more?

Man: I don’t know, sometimes I dream about being a good father and a good husband, and sometime it feels really close, but then other times.. it seems silly, like it would ruin my whole life and it is not just a fear of commitment or that I’m incapable of caring or loving because, I can, it is just that, if I’m totally honest with myself. I think I would rather die knowing, that I was really good at something, that I had excelled in some way, than that I’d just been in a nice caring relationship

Girl: I had worked for this older man and once he told me that he had spent all of his life thinking about his career. He was 52 and it suddenly struck him that he had never really given any things of himself. His life was for no one and nothing. He was almost crying saying that. I believe if there is any kind of God it wouldn’t be in any of us not you or me but just this little space in between. If there is a y kind of magic in this world it must be in attempt of understanding someone sharing something. I know it is almost impossible to succeed but who cares really? The answer must be in the attempt.

Leave a Reply

